Yorkshire Shield 2011

On Saturday 14th May the 2011 Yorkshire Shield took place at Leeds Lacrosse Club. This tournament is designed for YCLA clubs playing in NEMLA Premier 3 and for University sides from the region. 7 teams attended, bringing around 80 lacrosse players together for a day of 8-a-side lacrosse in near perfect weather!

Pool A
1st. Leeds Met Pl 4, W 4, Pts 12 GD +14
2nd. Sheffield Steelers ‘A’ Pl 4, W 2, L 2, Pts 6 GD -4
3rd Leeds University Pl 4, L 4, Pts 0 GD -10

Pool B
1st. Newcastle Pl 3, W 2, D 1, Pts 7 GD +12
2nd. Leeds LC Pl 3, W 2, D 1, Pts 7 GD +10
3rd. Hull LC Pl 3, W 1, L 2, Pts 3 GD 0
4th. Sheffield Universities Pl 3, L 3, Pts 0 GD -22

7th Place – Sheffield Universities
5th/6th Playoff – Hull 3 – 2 Leeds University (After Golden Goal ET)
3rd/4th Playoff – Leeds 6 – 2 Steelers ‘A’

Final – Leeds Met 6 – 2 Newcastle

It was a great day of lacrosse, played in great spirits with some well contested games. Leeds Met were deserved winners, scoring 25 goals in 4 games on the day.

The day was also used as an opportunity to announce the Yorkshire Award winners for 2010/11.

YCLA Player of the Year – Mike Armstrong (Sheffield Universities). Awarded for his performances in SUMLC’s successful season in NEMLA Premier 1, avoiding relegation against many people’s expectations. Mike was Captain of the squad this season and led them to this success and also the Sheffield University team to the BUCS Championship Semi-Finals, losing out to eventual winners Durham University.

YCLA Volunteer of the Year – Robin Webb (Newcastle Knights LC). Awarded for Robin’s tireless efforts as player, coach, committee member of not only Newcastle, but also at Northumbria University. With the Knights, Robin’s work off the field has paid dividends on it as they celebrated promotion to NEMLA Premier 2, the season after winning the old 5th Division. He has also worked hard to develop lacrosse at Northumbria University. After losing a number of players to graduation, he has rebuilt the squad around the core of 4/5 players who were retained from 2009/10 season.